Kentucky’s Drivers License Point System uses a point system for determining a person driving record. A traffic violation can result in points being assessed against a person’s license. The number of points on a person’s license can affect how much that person will pay for insurance.
In Kentucky a person is allowed to accrue up to 12 points against their license in a 2 year period. If the 12 point maximum is reached during the 2 year period a notice is automatically mailed to the individual. This notice will contain a date and location for a license revocation hearing before an administrative law judge. At this hearing a determination will be made as to whether the individual’s license will be suspended for 6 months. Or if the individual will be able to retain his or her license during a 1 year probation period.
A lawyer can help reduce the charge so that there are not points assessed against your license. Also an attorneys can advocate that probation is appropriate in your particular situation if you already have 12 points against you.
A Hurst & Hurst Law attorney can help you make the best decision possible for your traffic violation and help you keep your license. If you have been charged with a traffic offense like speeding, reckless driving or DUI call a lawyer with Hurst & Hurst at (859) 209-2101.