DUI Substance Abuse Programs in Kentucky

DUI Programs in KY

DUI Programs In Kentucky

If you plead or are found guilty of Driving Under The Influence in Kentucky you will be required to enter a DUI program for substance abuse. The following are the possible DUI program requirements for driving under the influence as defined by KRS Chapter 189A.

First DUI offense in 5 years

Up to 90 days in an alcohol or substance abuse education or treatment program, and the program shall provide an assessment of the individual’s alcohol or other substance abuse problems at the start of the program

Second DUI offense in 5 years

1 year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment, and the program shall provide an assessment of the individual’s alcohol or other substance abuse problems at the start of the program

Third DUI offense in 5 year period

1 full year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment, and the program shall provide an assessment of the individual’s alcohol or other substance abuse problems at the start of the program

Four or more DUIs in 5 year period

1 full year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment, and the program shall provide an assessment of the individual’s alcohol or other substance abuse problems at the start of the program

The Driving Under the Influence Program in Kentucky is responsible for monitoring and regulating the statewide network of DUI programs that are licensed and certified to provide alcohol and other drug assessments, education and treatment services to persons convicted of DUI.  If a program is not listed on the directory of accepted substance abuse programs then is it not valid in Kentucky and will not satisfy the requirements for your DUI charge.  Check out which programs will satisfy the DUI substance abuse treatment requirements at the DUI Program Provider Directory.

Will An Online DUI Program Satisfy My DUI Requirements?

The Kentucky DUI Program does not currently recognize any online DUI program as satisfying the requirements for substance abuse treatment for a DUI in Kentucky.  If you pay for an online DUI substance treatment course, you will still be required to attend one of the recognized DUI substance abuse programs on the Directory put out by the Kentucky DUI Program.

If you have been charged with a DUI in Kentucky or have questions about the requirements to satisfy for a DUI in KY, call an experienced DUI lawyer with Hurst & Hurst Law at (859) 209-2101.

One Comment
  1. What is the exact legal definition of “one year of alcohol or drug abuse treatment” in regards to second dui. Frequency and duration wise, in order to satisfy license reinstatment requirements?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *