Who You Are Can Matter

Some Driver’s Face Stiffer Penalties Than Others In Kentucky

Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21 Years Old

Younger drivers and commercial drivers can face greater penalties for traffic and driving violations than others in Kentucky. Generally, drivers younger than 21 years old face stiffer penalties than others, and those less than 18 greater still.

For example, drivers younger than 18 years old who receive traffic tickets during their permit or intermediate licensing phases must begin their 180 days of waiting all over again. Beginning  from the date of the violation on. Putting them out an additional half a year on getting their license fully.
Drivers younger than 21 years old convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) face complete license suspension. Continue reading

Out Of State Traffic Offenses

Speeding Out Of State

Traveling and vacations are fun. What is not as much fun are out of state traffic offenses. A traffic offense lawyer at Hurst & Hurst Law can provide out of state residents with the highest caliber legal representation for traffic violations or speeding tickets incurred in Kentucky.

For many out of state visitors it can be difficult to travel back to Kentucky to acquire legal representation. In addition to the multiple court dates for moving violations charged in Kentucky. To help non-residents, our firm works to reduce the number of times you have to travel to Kentucky to resolve any traffic violations.  We do not require that clients travel to our office to Continue reading

DUI Programs in KY

DUI Programs In Kentucky

If you plead or are found guilty of Driving Under The Influence in Kentucky you will be required to enter a DUI program for substance abuse. The following are the possible DUI program requirements for driving under the influence as defined by KRS Chapter 189A.

First DUI offense in 5 years

Up to 90 days in an alcohol or substance abuse education or treatment program, and the program shall provide an assessment of the individual’s alcohol or other substance abuse problems at the start of the program

Second DUI offense in 5 years Continue reading

Traffic Offense Lawyer

Why Should I Get Traffic Offenses Lawyer

Traffic offenses range from speeding to reckless driving to driving under the influence (DUI). A traffic offense lawyer at Hurst & Hurst Law can help set up an approach to help you move quickly and as painlessly as possible through the legal process.

Our lawyers will work to reduce the number of times you have to come to court and in some cases we can help prevent clients from having to appear in court at all for minor traffic or speeding tickets.

Our lawyers can help you with a variety of traffic charges, including driving under the influence, speeding, reckless driving, operating without insurance or other traffic violations.  If you have questions about a traffic violation or speeding ticket, or about how an attorney can help you with your moving violation, contact Hurst & Hurst Law at (859) 209-2101.

1st DUI Charge

Penalty For First Driving Under The Influence (DUI/DWI) Charge in Five Years In Kentucky

In Kentucky, the penalties for driving under the influence are determined by statute. The penalties for DUI are established by KRS 189A.010.

First Offense of a charge of DUI Within a Five Year Period:
• $200 – 500 Fine
• 2 to 30 Days in Jail*
• 90 Days of Alcohol or Substance Abuse Program
• 30 to 120 Day License Suspension
• Possible 48 Hours – 30 Days Community Labor
*If aggravating circumstances are present then there is a penalty of four (4) days imprisonment

Legal Representation for DUI

If you have been charged with DUI in Kentucky you should contact an attorney who specializes in DUI litigation. The attorneys at Hurst & Hurst Law have received specialized training in dealing with DUI charges and can help you determine the best option for you. If you have been charged with a DUI or have questions regarding a DUI charge contact Hurst & Hurst Law at (859) 209-2101.

DUI Law Changes in KY

Changes in Driving Under The Influence Law In Kentucky

The changes in the DUI law establishes minimum jail times (which cannot be probated, suspended, conditionally discharged or otherwise subject to early release) if convicted of DUI and aggravating circumstance(s) exist:

Aggravating Circumstances In Kentucky

What counts as aggravating circumstances in Kentucky is controlled by KRS 189A.010 [11].  The following are the aggravating circumstances that result in higher minimum jail time: Continue reading

What Is DUI?

What Is DUI And What Does It Mean In Kentucky?

The core charge in Kentucky for Driving Under The Influence Of Intoxicants is contained in KRS 189A.010.

DWI/DUI is an abbreviation of driving while under the influence of intoxicants (alcohol) or of any substance or substances that can impair a person’s ability to drive.

What Substances Count As Intoxicants For DUI In Kentucky?

Continue reading

DUI/DWI Training

Hurst & Hurst Attorney Receives Special Training For DUI Charges

Attorney, Rebecca Hurst attended specialized DUI training for litigating DUI charges in Lexington, KY.  The training was led by a former DUI police officer and Drug Recognition Expert (DRE), which is the highest level of training for DUI police officers.

The training addressed great techniques on how to win DUI cases at trial. Some of the specific Continue reading